Uncategorized

Banana Bread Heaven

banana bread slice

Hi friends and readers, I’m back. Finally.

I had to take a break from posting for a while there, due to the intensity of life and more specifically, my husband’s illness. But now I’m so happy to say that I’m back, and I’ll be posting regularly again. My husband is doing so much better, so life is a little more normal again!

So despite the pressure to post something Christmas-y, I have to write to you about a simple pleasure of mine… something we all can throw together with ingredients most of us have on hand… banana bread.

I’ve been on a search for a reeeeeeally long time for the perfect banana bread recipe. Now I know that what I consider “perfect” is purely subjective and might not be what ya’ll consider perfect. BUT in my defense, I have tried a plethora of banana breads, and to me, this one has earned a #1 spot

banana bread loaf whole

So what do I think qualifies for great banana bread you ask?

Well, for one thing, it has to have a dense banana-y texture. I don’t like my banana bread crumb being lite as cake. But I also don’t want it gummy or undercooked… doesn’t sound too good does it? This banana bread strikes the perfect balance, dense but still lite enough to have a nice crumbly texture.

And of course, I have to take it over the top by adding a crumbly crispy streusel topping. Its my opinion that everything tastes better with streusel!

My son who hates bananas was quickly converted to the banana bread lover camp.
Ahhh… it makes a mother smile!

Now if you want it to be less of a guilty pleasure, substitute most of the butter for no sugar added applesauce. (1/3 cup + 1 tbs applesauce + 2 tbs butter, instead of ½ cup of butter). I’m going to sneak this healthy version in to my family on Sunday (Christmas) and see if they notice the difference.

Have I conviced you to try it yet? Don’t throw away those spotty brown bananas next time! Make this and the people around you will thank you with lots of oohhs, aahhs, and can you make this again-s.

Merry Christmas!
…………….

melted butter
browned butter

I love using browned butter in my baking recipes wherever I can. It adds this nutty, distinct flavor that I adore. So to do this just melt your stick of butter in a pan, on medium heat, until the little milk solids turn an amber brown color, about 4 minutes.

sugar
browned butter

Add the browned butter to 3/4 cup sugar. I used organic white sugar here, you could use brown sugar as well if you like. Just use what you have on hand. Whisk together for 30 seconds or so.

bananas
bananas eggs etc

With a fork, mash 5 medium bananas (about 2 cups), add 2 large eggs, 2 heaping tablespoons plain yogurt, and the sugar-butter mixture. Stir until combined.

flour and eggs

batter in loaf

Mix together all the dry ingredients and add to the wet ingredients. Stir until just combined. Pour into your buttered loaf pan.



To make the struesal, mix together 1/3 cup sugar + 1/2 cup flour, a pinch of salt, 1/4 tsp ground cinamon, and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Using the back of your fork, or even your fingertips, work 3 Tablespoons unsalted butter into the mixture, until its nice and sandy, but still a bit clumpy. Sprinkle over the batter.

I also sprinkle a bit of raw sugar over the top as well… to give it some sparkle, a little more crunch, and of course…. some more calories.
Just know, you’ve officially committed diet suicide if you do this!
Well actually, that was probably around step 1 when we melted a whole stick of butter, LOL.



Bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until knife inserted comes out clean.

Banana Bread
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 heaping tablespoons plain yogurt (non-fat works fine)
2 eggs
2 cups extra ripe mashed bananas (aprox. 5 medium)

For Streusel
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp vanilla extract

Lower fat alternative: Use 1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon no-sugar-added applesauce, and 2 tablespoons melted butter, in place of the 1/2 cup butter.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, butter your loaf pan.

1. Melt butter in pan on medium heat, it will take around 4-5 minutes until milk solids turn amber brown, add to a small bowl with sugar, stir.

2. Mash bananas with a fork, add yogurt and eggs, and sugar-butter mixture

3. stir together remaining dry ingredients, add to wet ingredients. Stir until just combined.  Pour batter into buttered loaf pan.

4. Make struesal by combining all ingredients and rubbing together with your fingertips until combined.  Sprinkle streusel over batter

5. Bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes at 350 degrees, or until knife inserted comes out clean.

Enjoy and Merry Christmas!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Banana Bread Heaven

Leave a Reply

