Uncategorized

White Peach Butter with Cardamom

peaches and knife
Ok, Ok, I’m on a bit of a white peach kick.
After making those white peach margaritas last week, I fell in love with their pure sweet peach flavor. To top it off, white peaches seemed to be on sale everywhere I looked, so I had to do something with them again!

Peach butter, or any fruit butter for that matter, is like a loose jam. There’s actually no butter in it whatsoever, but that gets me thinking… this would have been awfully good with a stick of butter thrown into it. I mean, what doesn’t taste better with butter, right?

So if you love peaches like me, you’d be missing out on something really special by not trying this for yourself! On toast, as a sauce with ice cream, mixed in with your morning yogurt, or my favorite, plain right out of the jar. Hey, Its my jar… mine! I can double dip if I want to. Sorry, I get a little possessive over my sweets.

Moving along…
I added a few pinches of ground cardamom to just give it that je ne sais quoi flavor. I was going for “whats that hint of spice I detect”, not “woe, these are some spiced peaches”.  Ground ginger would also work really well. Speaking of which, I have this ginger- vanilla creme brule that I must share soon. Its heavenly!

So here is what I did.

x peaches
Using your small pairing knife, score an x on the top of your peach. This will help you peel your peach in a few minutess.

water boiling

Bring a large pot of water to a boil…

…and drop in your peaches. Blanch them for 2 minutes. Then scoop them out, and reserve some of the liquid.

peeling peaches

In a few minutes, once they’re cool enough to handle, peel the skin off. I used the tip of my pairing knife at first. But the skin was so loose, I just started peeling them off with my fingers.

peeled peaches
quartered peaches
Cut them in half.

quartered peaches
And then cut them into quarters. Throw them in a large pot.
water
sugar
Add 1 cup of the water you set aside earlier, and 1 3/4 cup sugar…

mmmhhhhh…. Cardamom. To me it smells like a mix of lemon and ginger.  Not only can you use it in desserts, but its great in spicy rubs. Just a little goes a long way.



and 1/2 tsp ground cardamom, and some sea salt.



Add the juice of 1 lemon, to give it a bit of tartness. Now let it simmer on low heat for 20 minutes, lid on.



Remove it from heat, and scoop the peaches into your blender. Just the peaches, you don’t need to add the juice. Puree until its nice and smooth.


Return the puree to all the juices in the pot. Mix, and set it over low heat, lid off. You’ll need to give it a stir every 20 minutes or so, scraping up any pieces that stick to the bottom.


After 3 hours…


You can do a test to see if its done. Just drop a small spoonful on a cold plate, and if it spreads really wide, and a little puddle of water oozes around the edges then it needs some more time.


After 4 1/2 hours. Done!
To be honest, at 4 1/2 hours, when I did the test, it still had a bit of that water ring around the edge, but I tasted it and thought, hey, this tastes great, and if I cook it anymore, I think it might have more of a caramel flavor than a strong peach flavor, so I took it off of the heat.


I had these cute jars leftover from a batch of apple butter I botched last fall. It had waaaaay too much sugar in it. For that reason, I significantly decreased the sugar in this recipe compared to the other fruit butter recipes I saw online.

Stored in your fridge, they’ll keep for about 3 weeks. That’s if you can stop yourself from eating it all before then!

Here’s my recipe.

Cardamom scented White Peach Butter
makes about 6 cups
6 lbs or 10 large white peaches
1 3/4 cup sugar (2 cups if you like it sweeter)
1 cup water
juice of 1 lemon
1/2 tsp ground cardamom, or ground ginger would work well too
1/4 tsp salt

Note: if you use yellow peaches, you might want to decrease or omit the lemon.  You also might want to use 2 cups of sugar instead of 1 3/4 cup.  Yellow peaches are more acidic than white peaches, so they don’t need that kick from the lemon.  Just wait until the end, and if it tastes a little bland, then add a bit of lemon juice.

Hope you enjoy it!

~Christina

Standard

Leave a Reply

