Appetizers, Vegetable Sides

Proscuitto & Broccolini with creamy dijon sauce

I love bacon, and I don’t think I’ve ever met anybody who doesn’t love love love it too. Perhaps there are some who can’t or won’t eat it … but that doesn’t mean that they still don’t have bacon envy!

Proscuitto is the less greasy cousin to bacon, and I go equally crazy for it.  Lets just say, sometimes the proscuitto mysteriously disappears on the way home from the grocery store.  Its not really so mysterious… I can’t help myself.  Oh well, I have serious lack of self restraint when it comes to this stuff.  It’s that good!

Now the really addictive variety is the freshly cut proscuitto di parma; its so moist and has just the right balance of salty and sweet. The pre-cut vaccuum sealed stuff is 2nd rate to this.  But I’ll work with what I can get and what I can afford, and sometimes that’s the packaged proscuitto.

How can you refuse broccolini when it’s covered with proscuitto and this creamy whole grain dijon sauce (personally I even love it simply sauteed with garlic and olive oil)?   I used fat free greek yogurt in the sauce, but you could just as well use sour cream or creme fraiche if you wanted it even more decadent.

To make the sauce, add 1/3 cup (about 5 T) plain greek yogurt to a small bowl.  I love this stuff! I swear I can’t tell it apart from sour cream on a baked potato. Such a great healthy alternative!

Next add the vinegar or lemon juice and 3 T whole grain dijon mustard.  The whole grain gives the sauce texture.  You could just substitute regular dijon, but whole grain just looks a bit more sophisticated (if you’re an occasional food snob like me, you care about these things…)

and 2 Tablespoons olive oil

Stir and add 1 Tablespoon minced shallots, or red onion.

Now tear off any large leaves still on the stems, and chop off a bit of the ends. Cut the largest stalks lengthwise, to cut down on grill time.  Drizzle with a little olive oil and some kosher (coarse grained) salt.

Preheat your grill to high, and then using tongs place your broccolini on the grill.  Turn the heat down to medium, and grill for 3 minutes per side.  Even after you take them off the heat, they’ll still cook a little.  So I always take them off a bit crisp.

Assemble on your plates, drizzling the sauce here and there.  You could even drizzle the broccolini with sauce and wrap each individually with proscuitto as a more finger food hor d’oeuvre… mmmmmm.   Enjoy!

………………………….

1/4 lb Proscuitto di Parma

1 1/2 lbs brocolini

3 tablespoons whole grain mustard

1/3 cup plain greek yogurt, sour cream, or creme fraiche

1/2 lemon or 2 tsp sherry or wine vinegar, for acidity

1 Tablespoon minced shallot

salt and pepper to adjust seasonong

Standard

Leave a Reply

